Baby it’s cold outside…

It’s cold again. Really cold. I swear yesterday’s 12C compared to the temperature of -17C right is just down right cruel. I fight back. I pull the scarf up higher, pull the toque down lower, and I eat soup. Frequently.

I was inspired one day to make an asian themed soup. I love pho and it seemed I could just make something similar. And by the way, I only recently learned it’s pronounced “fa” — What the fa, right? Thought it was “fo” – so not proud of myself.

I do have one thing to be proud of and that’s my favourite soup to throw together in a matter of minutes. It’s one of those weekday dinner meals that comes together easily and quickly. Filling and perfect on cold winter evenings.

I take a carton of beef broth and empty it into a pot. I throw in a few dashes of soy sauce, a few squirts of rice wine vinegar, a teaspoon of garlic powder, a quarter teaspoon of ginger, a couple squirt of sriracha sauce and I bring everything to a slow boil. In the meantime, I chop a carrot lengthwise and crosswise into bite sized pieces, throw that into the pot along with whatever other vegetables I have on hand. I generally always have frozen corn and edamame in the house, so one cup of frozen edamame and half a cup of frozen corn. You could do pretty anything you want and in any quantity provided everything ‘fit’ and depending on if you like your soup to have a lot of broth or a minimal amount. I’ve used peppers, cauliflower, broccoli, sugar snap peas (love these in this soup), snow peas, mushrooms, etc. Once it comes up to a boil, I simmer for 4-5 minutes and then I’ll throw in a handful of rice noodles. Once noodles are cooked through, I’ll add in half a package of fondue beef, about a quarter cup of chopped cilantro and half a cup of mung beans and continue simmering for another minute. Done and done. I generally serve with more chopped cilantro and another squirt of sriracha sauce for kick. Sometimes I’ll stir in a couple teaspoons of sour cream into my bowl or squeeze some fresh lime juice into my bowl.

Now I realize the photo below might suggest it is not good. I promise, my whole family loves it. I find the broth is just so rich and savoury. Again though, my family does not represent the general population. Tastes may vary 🙂

Try it though! Really!

An asian soup - from no specific country, which is why I'm attributing to an entire continent

An asian soup – from no specific country, which is why I’m attributing it to an entire continent

Leave a Reply

