Korea-Canada Blog

 The twinkle lights around Ottawa are still emanating a soft glow even though most of us have started to hunker down for the harsher winter months that lie ahead.

In between Christmas and New Years, I started sketching out a list in my head of resolutions for 2013. I have always considered the beginning of a calendar year as a clean slate — it’s bright, it’s shiny, it’s dazzling. My resolution year-after-year focuses on living and leading my life by example. Be the light, see the light. And in my adulthood, I’ve seen the light, so to speak. 

To explain myself, in recent years, I’ve come to recognize the value of having Korean role models.   

There’s something quite special about being able to identify with your role model through, among other things, a shared ethnicity. As a Korean adoptee, it’s a concept that didn’t resonate with me until later in life when I had my own daughter.

So, who is my Korean role model? Most certainly, Senator Yonah Martin.

View original post 1,890 more words

Leave a Reply

